Re-elected NLCA President committed to enhancing primary health care reform

During its recent annual general meeting, the membership of the Newfoundland and Labrador Chiropractic Association (NLCA) confirmed Dr. Linda Slaney as their President for a fourth term.

Slaney, who has served as NLCA President since being elected in 2012, is a practicing chiropractor in St. John’s and a graduate of Memorial University (B.Kin (Hons)) and Canadian Memorial Chiropractic College.

“For primary health care reform to truly be achieved we need to look at innovative ways of enhancing primary care. This means involving all primary care providers in developing the best solutions. With back pain and other musculoskeletal conditions now accounting for the leading cause of disability in society and second only after the common cold as a cause of missed days from work I am concerned that Chiropractors have not been asked to take a more pivotal role in these discussions” said Slaney during her address. “Solutions need to be based on what offers the most benefit to residents of the province regardless of the professional that provides the service. This is what patient-centred care is all about”

Dr. Darrell Wade, Executive Director and CEO went on to say, “In the upcoming months, we are looking forward to discussions with the provincial government in order to ensure that Newfoundlanders and Labradorians have access to the best possible health care. This includes access to the expert care of a chiropractor without financial barriers.”

Also at the meeting, recognition was given to members for their outstanding service to the profession. Dr. Roland Bryans was honoured with the inaugural Life Member award in recognition of his exceptional service in the province for more than 30 years and Janet Shapter accepted the Honourary Life patron award on behalf of her late husband Dr. Albert (Ted) Shapter MD. Other awards included the Chiropractor of the Year award which was presented to Dr. Darrell Wade for his service to the profession and community.